How To Be A Writer Introduction

Welcome to the introduction to the How to Become a Writer series. This series is going to be for anyone, at any age, who has just decided they want to be a writer. I was there, and I learned a lot on the way to becoming a writer.
First things first, you need to decide what you want to write, not your idea, but your type of writing. When I started, my type of writing was obvious to me. I wanted to write what I liked to read. I really like to read middle grade and young adult fiction, both fantasy and contemporary. Look at what you like to read, and test out different genres and audiences.
You could like one genre, but really be good at writing a totally different genre. That’s okay, but whatever you choose, you really need to read and study whatever category you decide to write in. Ask your librarian for popular books in your category, and research online.
​That’s it for this week, sorry it’s so short but this is a really busy week for me, and I thought this subject would be better by itself.
​Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

