A NaNoWriMo Revelation and Blogging Stuff

Yes, that is a long title. And this is probably going to be a relatively long post.
So how is NaNoWriMo going? You’re probably wondering. After all, you haven’t been posting much this month, your goal must be almost met.
As I’m writing this, I’m stifling laughter on the couch in my grandparent’s house while my mom and grandma prepare for Thanksgiving. Yes, you might think that. You might think that I have written a bunch of words this month. But that isn’t the truth.
The truth is that I have about ten thousand words. Yeah.
The whole story of how I’m failing NaNoWriMo is very long, but I’ll spare you all the boring details and give you the short version: The month started out great, I lost my steam pretty quickly with all that I had to do, and now I’m majorly behind. What have I been doing all this time? School, reading, writer’s group, and procrastination.
And now I have a revelation. One that has made me a better writer. I learned that there is one way to write. And that is to write.
Surprising, right? I bet you never saw that coming. But it is so true, and I didn’t realize that until a few days ago.
I was so frustrated with myself, wondering why I couldn’t just sit down and write, why I always found excuses. Then I realized that I was avoiding the one thing that would help. And that was writing.
I wish I could tell you that there is a secret formula to get you to write more, but there isn’t. That there is a magic writing genie that will help in the creation of your novel. But there isn’t. There’s only blood, sweat, and tears. Okay, maybe not literally, but it sometimes feels like it.
So the next time you find yourself procrastinating, pinch yourself, stop whatever you’re doing, find something to write with and WRITE. That’s all there is to it. It can be so hard and so easy.
Trick yourself into only writing for ten minutes. Then twenty. Then thirty. Then an hour. Now you’re writing.

Okay, that was my little rant about writing. Now onto my blogging part of the post.
So this blog is feeling kind of unorganized to me, so I’m going to start getting it organized.
So should we post at morning or at night? I’m leaning towards night US Pacific time, but if you would rather have us post in the morning, please comment below. Also, how many times a week should we post? Right now we might only do three times a week, but if you want more, please, comment below. If we’re only going to post three times a week, then I’ll post on Monday, Katie will post on Wednesday, and Hazel will post on Friday.
Oh, and in other announcements, I’m starting a newsletter for Middle Grade and Young Adult writers. It’ll probably be started in December or January.
That’s all for today, and be sure to come back tomorrow for the first post in Katie’s new series.
Elizabeth

One thought on “A NaNoWriMo Revelation and Blogging Stuff

Leave a Reply

