The Path To Publication Step Seven: When and Where to Write

Hey guys! It’s Elizabeth. NaNoWriMo is officially over! I still can’t believe it. It still feels like the beginning of November. But that’s how these things go, I guess. I’m sorry I didn’t write as much as I hoped, but I got a solid ten thousand words in, and that’s a good start. I hope to get my novel done by the end of the year. But to do that, I need to restart my scheduled writing time, which is actually the subject of this post.
So if you all are new, I’ll quickly review what the Path to Publication is. The Path to Publication, is a series of articles taking you through the steps of writing and publishing a novel. So far I have gone through six steps: deciding if your story idea is right for you, making a writing plan, pre-outlining, using plot points, outlining, and some of the things you need to do before starting your first draft.
Today, the topic is: Figuring out when to write.
Where To Write
I have already written a short article on this:
It’s time to find your writer’s space. This space can be in any spot that you want. Where do you like to write? The answer will not be the same for everyone.
I, for instance, like to write at desks, preferably in my bedroom. I started at a small, pale, wooden desk meant for a much smaller child. My legs were pressed up against the top, and it sometimes left marks, but it was worth the words pouring out from my fingertips. Later I got what I work at now, a huge L shaped desk made out of dark wood. It has many bookshelves, where I store all of my books on writing, notebooks, and library books I need to return. I also hang posters on it, and store little mementos around me for inspiration. I also have a vanilla air-freshener. Whenever I open it up, the scent of vanilla floods out, and inspires me to write. This scent gets me in a writing mood, since I only use it when I write.
I say all this to give you ideas, none of which you have to use. Maybe you don’t like to write at a desk, but at a coffee shop, or on your bed, or in a tree, or on your living room couch. That is awesome! Do what works best for you.
If you don’t know what works best for you, experiment. Try your couch one day, and your kitchen table the next. You never know what place will inspire creativity, and aid your writing.
And remember, you might need a change of scenery now and again. For instance, I wrote most of my novel at my desk, but finished it on my bed. I desperately needed a change of scenery, and it worked! Soon, while I plot my next novel, I’m going to try writing at my library in the newly remodeled teen section. Who knows, maybe it will be just the thing to get this new novel jump started!
What Time Of Day To Write
This, again, is different for everyone. It depends on a lot of things, including your circumstances, and what time of day you are most productive.
I like to write early morning, just before noon, or at night. In the summer I wrote just before noon and at night, but when school rolled around, I couldn’t do that anymore. I had to discipline myself to wake up earlier.
That’s all for today! If you have any more questions, please comment below. And come back on Wednesday for the first post in Katie’s new series.
Elizabeth

2 thoughts on “The Path To Publication Step Seven: When and Where to Write

Leave a Reply

